Visitors Feedback Form

United Republic of Tanzania  
  • Mwl. Julius K. Nyerere
  • Sheikh Abeid Amani Karume
How Do I
Read More » ...
Home Foreign AffairsForeign Relations

Tanzania enjoys good relations with its neighbours in the region and in recent years has been an active participant in efforts to promote the peaceful resolution of disputes.  It is a  member of international and regional groupings  and is also committed in other bilateral and multilateral arrangements. Tanzania also helped in peace talks to end conflict in Burundi and supports the Lusaka agreement concerning the conflict in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Tanzania has also played an active role in hosting refugees from neighboring countries including Mozambique, DR Congo, Burundi, and Rwanda.  In March 1996, Tanzania, Uganda, and Kenya revived discussion of economic and regional cooperation. These talks culminated with the signing of an East African Cooperation Treaty in September 1999, which should in time lead to economic integration through the development of the East African Community.

The EAC entry point is establishment of a Customs Union and Common Market under which protocols for its establishment are envisaged to be concluded within a period of four years starting November 1999. Further stages of integration is the creation of a Monetary Union and ultimately a Political Federation.  The EAC aims at strengthening the economic integration of these countries on a selective and pragmatic basis, including facilitation of trade through harmonization of tariffs, payments, transport, movement of people, and harmonization of other areas of common interest i.e. political, social and cultural fields.

Tanzania is the only country in East Africa which is also a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) since its establishment in early 1980s.  The SADC is a Community of 13 countries, namely Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and Democratic  Republic of Congo. The SADC Member States have ratified the Trade Protocol (25th, Jan. 2000) aimed at establishing a free trade area for the liberalization of intra-SADC trade in goods and services, and adoption of relevant trade laws (anti-dumping, subsidies, countervailing duties and safeguards measures).

Foreign Policy Tanzania at the United Nations
Bilateral Relations Ministry of East African Cooperation
Source: Government Portal Content Committee, Last Reviewed on : 2015-10-02 06:46:46
7 Total
Very Useful 6
Quite Useful 1
Unsure 0
Not Very Useful 0
Not at all Usefull 0
Ease of Access
8 Total
Very Easy 6
Quite Easy 1
Unsure 1
Not Very Easy 0
Not at all Easy 0

Click here to subscribe this page
Subscribe new content on this page